Career

2017 Update

Now that I’m not a student anymore, I suppose the “new year” means calendar year, not school year.  This means making new resolutions and new plans – including in my writing life!  With that in mind, here are a few tidbits about what I have planned for 2017 and my writing career:

  • I will be part of the new professional editing service offered for graduate and professional students at WSU, offering proofreading and developmental editing services for longer manuscripts, papers, and articles than we normally see at the Writing Center.
  • A friend and I are working on a personal project about a topic that is extremely important to me: mental health.  Our aim is to help reduce the stigma around this topic in media and provide a space both for exchanging information and sharing artistic expressions of personal experiences.  More on that as it takes shape, but I’m hoping to launch it sometime this summer.  For now, follow us on Twitter here if you’re interested in seeing where the project goes.
  • I’m polishing up some of my short stories to submit to various online contests, journals, and sites that I just enjoy.  I’m also in the process of drafting some essays to submit on more serious topics.
  • My manuscript is now over 20,000 words!  I know this isn’t terribly long as far as manuscripts go, but this is the most material I’ve ever written for one project that didn’t taper off and die out, so it’s still exciting to me.  My goal is to have a complete draft and have my beta readers look at it by the end of this year.

Hopefully I will be finding a new job soon, once decisions are made concerning location for the next few years.  That’s all for now!  Hope your 2017 is off to a good start.

-Grace

Leave a Reply

